My Family Famous Guacamole

 

Guacamole may seem like a simple recipe, but this is the first recipe that I created on my own. I have loved guacamole since for forever, but I really started to make it on my own in college. It was something that I could make without a kitchen in my dorm. Avocados were expensive on a college student’s budget, but it was a real treat. My mom even sent me a care package full of ingredients to make guacamole for my finals (I just had to buy the cilantro). I have made guacamole for many family holidays, by special request from my Oma. Guacamole holds a special place in my heart because it is the first recipe that someone had me made in exchange for some actual money!! I felt like I had a real life cooking business. This was a one and only time thing, but maybe it is a sign of things to come.

Guacamole
Serves 4-6

IMG_2016

Ingredients

3 Haas Avocados (important that they are haas avocados, the other kinds I have found are                               too slimy)
3 tbsp red onions, finely diced
1/4 cup chopped cilantro
1 jalapeno finely diced
1 lemon
1 lime
1 medium sized tomato chopped with seeds removed
salt and pepper to taste
optional 1-2 garlic cloves finely minced

Directions
1. Using a sharp knife, cut the avocados in half and scoop the insides of the avocado into a    bowl and mash with fork. To remove the avocado seed, carefully insert the knife
lengthwise into the seed, and twist the knife to remove the seed.

2. Add the red onions, jalepeno, juice of 1 lime, juice of 1/2 lemon, and cilantro into the
bowl with the avocado and mix well.

3. Fold in tomatoes and salt and pepper to taste. Enjoy right away or refrigerate for a
couple of hours. Hint: to keep the guacamole from oxidizing, place plastic wrap directly
on the guacamole and then cover with lid. I have heard that putting the avocado seed in
the guacamole will keep it from turning brown, but this technique never worked for
me.
4. Enjoy with chips or add it to your favorite dish like tacos or it is great with eggs in the
morning with some hot sauce

IMG_2040

 

2 thoughts on “My Family Famous Guacamole

  1. I have been lucky enough to enjoy your guacamole a few times…but every time I have it after this, I will enjoy it even more knowing how special it is to you! Some day, I’ll have to make you some. I always say that if I had to be stranded with just one food, it would be guacamole…it is delicious on its own, and it makes anything you eat it with taste good!

    Like

Leave a Reply

