“Allitiverally” me

So apparently alliteration has become important in my life. Courtney’s Cooking Kitchen is about my love for food in all its forms. I will share my love for cooking different recipes, trying different world cuisines, or a new cooking gadget that I may come across. I love that food brings people together. Whether it is cooking for someone or simply grabbing a bite to eat together, food allows people to share their stories.

I have enjoyed food ever since I was young. I have a mother who is an amazing cook, and would cook for us growing up. She always wanted to try different recipes for dinner, and we weren’t satisfied with the same meals every week. As my siblings and I grew, the recipes we tried were sometimes more exotic in nature. Some recipes worked, and some didn’t, but the important thing is that we always tried something new. I was blessed to have been able to travel to many different places growing up. I learned how to use chopsticks really well when I was 10 in Hong Kong. Nothing will teach you how to do something as well as when there aren’t any other options. I went to restaurants that had “adult food.” And I loved it. Growing up I was called “the little gourment.” I was happy that Chilean sea bass was at the family picnics, and wanted to go for Thai food when other kids wanted hamburgers and hot dogs. Although I do love a good hot dog and Velveeta macaroni and cheese.

So this blog will share my love for food, whether it is a new recipe for a Moroccan dish or a really yummy casserole. I come from a family of amazing cooks. My Oma taught my mom, who taught my sisters and me. I want to share some of the things that I have learned and any new tidbits along the way.

4 thoughts on ““Allitiverally” me

Leave a Reply

